Fiction writing

July 28, 2008 § Leave a comment

I prefer reading fiction more than nonfiction. However conversely I find it is easier to write nonfiction than fiction. I wonder where exactly fiction authors find so many ideas to elaborate, so many complex storylines to entwine and still make it to a comprehensive succinct ending. Then again there’s conundrum how an author can come up with an equally, if not more, exciting and riveting story within a few years.

Of course most of the general fiction, I suppose, is in fact inspired either by real life persons, events or locations. I guess John Grisham, a lawyer himself, was inspired by various cases he tried or attended. Ian Fleming’s characters were replicates some real life persona at the MI6. Alistair Maclean’s novels give an insight into his life in the navy. But then again there are others who are simply masters in storytelling.

The most difficult part in writing fiction to me is the storytelling. Particularly when you are supposed create quite a few imaginary characters and incidents while still remaining in the real world, holding your ground. The only imaginations I have ever been able to conjure up are my dreams. Sometimes I feel that the only way I would ever be able to write fiction is if work really hard on remembering my dreams, writing my imaginary accounts down and hoping to find some sort of consistency or cohesion in them.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fiction writing at Shreyasp's Weblog.

meta

